Wychavon District Council came into being as a shadow authority in 1973 and took over responsibility for the district in 1974.

It was formed following the coming together of five Councils:

  • Evesham Borough Council
  • Evesham Rural District Council
  • Droitwich Borough Council
  • Droitwich Rural District Council
  • Pershore Rural District Council.

Originally, the Council's offices were scattered around the three towns of Evesham, Droitwich and Pershore. In 1991 the Civic Centre, which now houses all departments, was built in Pershore.

The Council maintains its presence in the towns of Evesham and Droitwich with Community Contact Centres.