The last Wychavon Intelligently Green Awards was held in 2018, at a special ceremony hosted by leading British environmentalist and writer, Jonathon Porritt, and sponsored by Severn Waste Services.

The finalists gathered at Worcestershire Wildlife Trust, Lower Smite Farm, to see if they were amongst the winners of the awards that recognise, celebrate and promote local green projects, activities and lifestyles that are not only good for the environment but also benefit the community or save money. Nominations from across the district were received in four award categories.

View Worcestershire Wildlife Trust website (opens in new window)

The winners were…

The overall winner of the 2018 Intelligently Green Awards was Evesham Adventure Playground Association for their community pantry, bike schemes and use of reused and reclaimed materials in the adventure playground.

2018 Intelligently Green Awards winners

The other winners:

Individual and household category - sponsored by HERU. View HERU website (opens in new window)

Business and public sector category – sponsored by Walsh Mushrooms. Visit the Walsh Mushrooms website (opens in new window)

Community group category – sponsored by Severn Waste Services.

Schools/college and youth group category – sponsored by University of Worcester

Other finalists were…

  • John Campbell-Muir – Training the Future
  • Droitwich Salt, Churchfields Saltworks
  • Evesham Methodist Church for their environmental programme
  • Inkberrow Millennium Green Trust for a replacement board walk around a historic moat

All the finalists have demonstrated how they have made a significant contribution to our Intelligently Green theme, and how they are generating community or financial benefits.  The judges were also looking for innovation, creativity and how nominees are promoting greener practices to other people

Other nominees included:

  • Oxton Organics
  • Spot Loggins Ice Cream
  • Welcome to Our Future
  • Brew Bear Coffee House


Rooftop Housing Group were our headline sponsors.  Thank you to all our sponsors